

Republic of Ecuador

# INTERMINISTERIAL AGREEMENT No. 0000002

## THE MINISTER OF GOVERNMENT,

## THE MINISTER OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND HUMAN MOBILITY

## **CONSIDERING:**

That Inter-ministerial Agreement No. 00001, of March 12, 2020, issued jointly by the Ministry of Government and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Human Mobility, establishes in its First Article "To provide -as of the OO:OO of Friday, March 13, 2020the implementation of a Preventive Mandatory Isolation (PMI), for an uninterrupted period of fourteen (14) days, to all travelers of Ecuadorian or any other nationality that enter the territory of the Republic of Ecuador and coming from the People's Republic of China (Hubei and Guangdong provinces), the Kingdom of Spain, the Republic of France, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of South Korea and the Republic of Italy."

That on March 11, 2020, the Minister of Public Health issued Ministerial Agreement 126-2020 by which she declares a State of Sanitary Emergency for sixty days in the territory of Ecuador to prevent the spread of COVID-19 and prevent a possible massive population contagion;

That the preamble and operative part of the aforementioned Inter-ministerial Agreement No. 00001, of March 12, 2020, is in full force due to the Declaration of Sanitary Emergency of the Ministry of Public Health;

That Article 7 of Ministerial Agreement 126-2020 of the Ministry of Public Health states that the Immigration Control Authority be informed to adopt preventive measures concerning citizens entering and leaving Ecuadorian territory; and ,

In exercise of the powers conferred on them by articles 154, numeral 1 and 226 of the Constitution of the Republic of Ecuador, article 163, numeral 1, 2 and 5 of the Organic Law of Human Mobility; and, article 1 of the Regulation of the Organic Law of Human Mobility,

#### AGREE:

**Article One.** – To include in the list of countries provided for in Article One of Inter-Ministerial Agreement No. 0000001 of March 12, 2020- Denmark the United States of America (Massachusetts, California, New York and Washington states), Norway, the Netherlands, Sweden and Switzerland. Therefore, all travelers arriving to the national territory of Ecuador from those countries and federal states must comply with the Preventive Mandatory Isolation (PMI) established in Inter-ministerial Agreement No. 00001, for an uninterrupted period of 14 days and in accordance with the other provisions of said Inter-ministerial Agreement.

Article Two. – The provision of preceding Article One shall take effect from 00:00 on Sunday, March 15, 2020

#### TRANSITIONAL DISPOSITION

People who have started to travel to Ecuador until, March 14, 2020, and coming from Denmark, the United States of America (Massachusetts, California, New York and Washington states), Norway, the Netherlands, Sweden and Switzerland must comply with the 14-day PMI, but must have made the reservation of accommodation and internal transportation referred to in the Inter-Ministerial Agreement No. 0000001, of March 12, 2020. If the traveler does not want or cannot comply with the PMI, they must leave the country using a similar means of transportation than the one used on arrival, at the cost of the concerned party.

### FINAL DISPOSITION

The execution of this Inter-ministerial Agreement that will come into effect from the date of its signature, without prejudice to its publication in the Official Registry, is entrusted to the Undersecretariat of Migration of the Ministry of Government, and the Vice-Ministry of Human Mobility of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Human Mobility, within the scope of their powers.

#### To be COMMUNICATE and PUBLISHED.

Signed in the Metropolitan District of Quito on, March 13, 2020

Maria Paula Romo

Jose Valencia

MINISTER OF

**MINISTER OF** 

# GOVERNMENT

# FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND HUMAN MOBILITY